History of the 

Sidney Fire Protection District

 A 1976 Sidney bicentennial history book written by Sidney Township resident and former Sidney school teacher Virginia McElroy makes reference that prior to 1938 the Sidney Village Board of Trustees was the governing entity for the Sidney Fire Department.


In 1938 the Sidney Fire Protection District (SFPD) was organized and became Champaign County’s first Fire Protection District. SFPD encompasses all 36 square miles of Sidney Township with the village of Sidney almost centered within the fire district.


Ever since its organization the SFPD has been governed by 3 trustees who are appointed and approved for 3 staggered terms of office by the Sidney Township Board of Trustees. The current SFPD Board of Trustees are William Hensch, Tim Maupin, and Bruce Smith. The Board meets monthly at the Sidney Fire Station located at 302 South David Street. Meetings are usually held on the first Wednesday of the month, begin at 7:00 pm and the public is invited to attend.

The original 1933 village ordinance which created the

Sidney Fire Department: